Borgata Poker Open


Season Six – 16 – 20 September 2007


$10 000

Prize Pool

$5 432 000




The Borgata Events Centre is one of the largest venues in Atlantic City and is the perfect place to host a WPT event as auspicious as the Borgata Poker Open. Thirty thousand sq ft of space can easily accommodate over 3 and half thousand people on a good day. The hotel-casino is one of the latest offerings of the Atlantic City gambling moguls, and it boasts a 43 story hotel, 13 restaurants and a gambling floor over 160 000 square foot!

Getting there

From Philadelphia take the I-76 E over the Walt Whitman Bridge. The I-76 E becomes the NJ-42 South which bears left onto the Atlantic City Expressway East. As you approach Atlantic City stay right and take Exit 1 towards the Convention Centre/Marina/Brigantine. Go through the tunnel – the Atlantic City /Brigantine Connector – pass exit E and stay left. Exit at Renaissance Pointe/Borgata, Exit H.

Contact Details

Borgata Hotel Casino and Spa, One Borgata Way, Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Telephone – 1-609-3017

Email –


Roy ‘the Oracle’ Winston had to out last some of the real heavy weights of the game including Mike ‘The Mouth’ Matusow and Haralabos Voulgaris to claim the Borgata Poker Open and prize money of $1 572 280.

Winston started with a massive chip lead, and had a dream start when he caught a flush on the turn to eliminate Matusow, winner of the 2005 World Series of Poker Tournament of Champions, two-time WSOP bracelet winner, and clearly one of the biggest threats to Winston’s maiden WPT title attempt.

Once he had Matusow out of the way all went like clockwork for the medical doctor and commercial pilot, but the heads-up against Heung Yoon was rather a different story. Although Winston went into the head-to-head with a 4-1 chip lead, Yoon put up a terrific fight and managed to even out the chip stacks a bit. At the end of the day, however, the short stacked Yoon just did not have the patience to bury Winston, and the New Yorker claimed his first poker title.

Winston’s WPT Results

Final Table

  1. Roy Winston
  2. Heung Yoon
  3. Haralabos Voulgaris
  4. Mark Weitzman
  5. Eugene Todd
  6. Mike Matusow