Results of the WPT World Poker Challenge – Season Six


Season Six – 25 – 30 March 2008


$7 500 & $200

Prize Pool

$1 873 275




Grand Sierra Resort and Casino in Reno, Nevada

Lee Markholt Claims Maiden WPT Win

Lee Markholt had the dubious honour of being one of the most consistent tournament players on the circuit without a big tour win under his belt, but all this changed when he dominated a field that included the man tipped as the most accomplished poker player in the world today, Phil Ivey, eight-time WSOP bracelet winner, Erik Seidel, who went on to win the 2008 WPT Foxwoods Poker Classic and Michael ‘the Grinder’ Mizrachi, winner of two WPT titles!

It was to be Markholt’s maiden final table and one of his biggest rivals was David ‘Dragon’ Pham, another accomplished poker player who has claimed two WSOP bracelets and has made it to six WPT final tables without success – he was to be cheated out of a first place finish yet again!

It took only ten hands to get to the final showdown between Markholt and the last man standing, Bryan ‘Devo’ Devonshire and the heads-up was certainly not a protracted affair either – it was all over in only two hands. Devonshire is no slouch at the tables – he has been playing pro poker since 2005 and apart from his second place finish at the World Poker Challenge, he managed to finish runner-up in the Limit Omaha Hi/Lo event at the 2007 WSOP and finished 7th at the 2007 WPT LA Poker Classic.

The board read 4-3-2-J in the final hand and Devonshire made the fatal mistake of raising Markholt holding just 8-4 with no flush draw. It was a matter of seconds, not minutes, when Devo had to face the bad news – Markholt flipped over a J-4 for two pair, his first WPT title and over $450 000!

Lee’s Big Cashes

  • 2005 – PPT No Limit Holdem freeroll – 1st – $225 000
  • 2005 – WPT World Poker Finals – 3rd – $112 350
  • 2006 – WSOP Circuit Event Grand Casino Tunica Poker Tournament No Limit Holdem – 4th – $183 160

Final Table

  1. Lee Markholt – $468 315
  2. Bryan Devonshire – $271 625
  3. Zachary Hyman – $149 862
  4. Jason Potter – $103 030
  5. David ‘Dragon’ Pham – $93 664
  6. Jeff DeWitt – $84 297