Results of the WSOP Event 25 – $10 000 Heads Up No Limit Holdem

Kenny Tran claimed his maiden WSOP bracelet and over $530 000 in prize money when he emphatically outplayed one of the new kids on the block, Alec Torelli. American, Torelli has being playing professional poker since 2006 and apart from his success at the Aussie Million, he impressed by finishing tenth at the 2008 EPT Grand Final in Monte Carlo.

Tran, originally from Vietnam now living in the United States, has not been at the felt tables all that long either but he has had some success at the WSOP before – in 2007 he finished 5th in the newly added $50 000 H.O.R.S.E event and claimed over $444 000. He also finished 16th at the inaugural WSOPE (World Series of Poker Europe) Main Event!

The Road to the Final – Semi Final 1 – Kenny Tran versus Jonathan Jaffe

Jonathan Jaffe must have thought he had the semi final showdown in the bag when he won the first seven successive hands of the Heads Up, but the more accomplished Tran somehow kept himself in contention by pulling off a win whenever it mattered the most.

It was only in hand 26 that Tran took the lead for the first time in the 60- hand match and he headed to the final hand with a very small chip advantage. Jaffe quickly called all-in and Tran took his time before surprising the crowd, and his opponent, by making the call. Tran had pocket jacks, Jaffe sat with K-8 and the Board backed the jubilant Tran.

Semi Final 2 – Vanessa Selbst versus Alec Torelli

The second semi final started slowly with only miniscule pots being traded but in the 17th hand the writing was on the wall for Vanessa Selbst – Torelli took the match by the scruff of the neck and began dominating. The match ended in the 35th hand with all the cash going in on the Turn and the Board showing J-5-4-10. Selbst had an advantageous K-10 whereas Torelli held K-Q. The River delivered a 9 completing Torelli’s straight!

  1. Kenny Tran – $539 056
  2. Alec Torelli – $336 896
  3. Vanessa Selbst – $108 288
  4. Jonathan Jaffe – $108 288
  5. Lyle Berman – $54 144
  6. Brandon Adams – $54 144
  7. Gavin Griffin – $54 144
  8. Robert Mizrachi – $54 144
  9. David Williams – $36 096