Results of the WSOP Event 8 – $10 000 Mixed Event

The inaugural Mixed Event took place from 4-6 June and a stellar cast of over 190 poker players headed to the felt tables of the Rio to trade salvos for a share of the $1 804 000 prize pool and a WSOP bracelet.

The Cast

The field was eventually narrowed down to a final table that included some very interesting characters  – young online prodigy and eventual runner-up, James ‘’ Mackey, 2006 WSOP Player of the Year, Jeff Madsen, veteran Eli Elezra and the indomitable Sammy Farha, a regular in the biggest Pot Limit Omaha games in the world.

It was also the hotly debated and anticipated WSOP debut of internet sensation, Tom ‘Durrr’ Dwan, but at the end of the day it was the two twenty-two year olds, Anthony Rivera and James Mackey, who stood toe to toe for the title. Mackey was the short stack going in to the final and in the deciding hand he raised to $87 000. This did not deter the poker pro from Vegas who replied with $287 000 which prompted Mackey to throw caution to the wind and go all-in. A flabbergasted Rivera responded with “What? You’re all-in? I call”.

The Killer Hand

Rivera had an Ace of spades and King of Hearts and Mackey was holding the Ace of clubs and 9 of hearts and when the board delivered the Queen of spades, Queen of clubs, 2 of spades, 4 of clubs and 5 of hearts it was all over for Mackey. He will be feeling aggrieved but at least he has one WSOP bracelet already which he won at the $5000 No Limit Holdem event in 2007.

Rivera, on the other hand, has never picked up a WSOP win in the two years he has been playing, so his maiden title must have meant a great deal to the youngster considering he outplayed not only the final table but outlasted some pretty accomplished poker dudes too, including Gus Hansen who finished 10th, Johnny Chan who came in thirteenth and Doyle Brunson who claimed the 21st spot.

Final Table Finishes

  1. Anthony Rivera – $483 688
  2. James Mackey – $297 792
  3. Matt Glantz – $184 992
  4. Mike deMichele – $139 872
  5. Eli Elezra – $108 288
  6. Sammy Farha – $85 728
  7. Jeff Madsen – $67 680
  8. Tom Dwan – $54 144
  9. David Oppenheim – $45 120