WSOP Event 50 – $10 000 Pot Limit Omaha

Sunday 29 June at 12.00 Noon

Pot Limit Omaha demands a clear strategy and plenty of skill and discipline and as a result it has been elevated to World championship status at the World Series of Poker since 2007.

It is one of the poker variants, together with Holdem, that continues to attract new enthusiasts almost every day, particularly at the dozens of online poker rooms. Although it has been a regular at the WSOP for nigh on twenty five years, it is a lot more popular in Europe than in the United States.

The Skills Required

Pot Limit Omaha is not a game of chance, a tremendous amount of thought and ability is needed to become a successful PLO player and some of these skills are:

  • The ability to read the opposition
  • Adherence to rigorous hand selection – only play with premium hands
  • Being disciplined and patient in waiting for those quality cards
  • Having the courage to bet and raise

Celebrated Winners of Pot Limit Omaha at the WSOP

Pot limit Omaha was first introduced at the WSOP in 1984 and two-time WSOP Main Event runner-up, Dewey Tomko, claimed his second bracelet of the tournament in the $5000 maiden event. Over the long history of the WSOP many fine players have walked away with the Omaha title and these include:

  • Tom Preston aka Amarillo Slim, who won the 1972 Main Event and then went on to capture three more bracelets, two of which were for his Pot Limit Omaha performances. He pocketed $85 000 in 1985 by outgunning the legendary David ‘Chip’ Reese and came good again in 1990 and this time prize money was over $140 000.
  • Hoyt Corkins, also known as the ‘Cowboy’, claimed his maiden bracelet in 1992 for his final table finish in the $5000 Pot Limit Omaha event.
  • At the 1998 WSOP it was a slug fest between two consummate poker celebrities, TJ Cloutier and the indefatigable Doyle Brunson. Cloutier eventually planted the killer blow and claimed the title, the bracelet and over $130 000.
  • In 2000 it was the turn of the champions to claim the Pot Limit honours and Johnny Chan and Phil Ivey did just that. Chan captured the cheaper $1500 event and $179 400, whilst the fabulous Phil Ivey downed Amarillo Slim for his $195 000 in the $2500 PLO contest.
  • Three years later the remarkable Johnny Chan re-iterated his poker proficiency by clinching the $5000 PLO crown all over again and he was in pretty illustrious company as the two smaller events were won by John Juanda and Erik Seidel respectively.
  • Phil Ivey returned in rampant form in 2005 to take the title yet again and this time he banked over $630 000!